Creating shoot them up

hu, cd, scd, acd, supergrafx discussions.
tonma
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by tonma »

Hi.
Your .pce works fine but i can't compil the .s

I don't have the the HUC part. I try with the original HUC kit of magicengine and after with the last version of HUC on the zerograd web site (Download HuC 3.21 (denki) (433975 bytes), OS : win added on 2005-04-09). I've verified the path and make some test without success.

With the last kit (huc 3.21), when I try bg.s, I always have this error in huc_gfx.asm with all line with " __plb" if I test the line number.

The message is :
"lda __arg,Y
undefined symbol in operand field !

And I try with samples in mkit, I have now error when I use them with HUC 3.21 (in startup.asm, Library.asm and sound.asm)
tonma
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by tonma »

I finally make it without HUC and some minor change.

One thing I change to make my version working is .org :

Code: Select all

.data
	.bank MAIN_BANK
	.org $C000
Can you tell me why I need to write at these address ? I don't find information in your last link.

And after if I want to go to BG1 and/or scroll, I need to look into the register "$09 - Memory Width Register (MWR)" ?
User avatar
MooZ
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Lvl 3
Contact:

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by MooZ »

That's mainly because of how mkit implements the irq_reset.
I don't have the code at hand right now but I guess that it maps the MAIN_BANK to mpr 4 (hence the .org $C000, as 0xC000=(6<<0x0D))

About the vdc registers... yes!
I think there's a routine for this.
tonma
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by tonma »

Thanks, I look Inside mkit/debug and find some value. I think I put now my data in the good way but ...

I doesn't understand why you mul by 0x0D but I find the bank map adress and 6 is for the bank 6(#C000) !

I begin to use the BG0 but line by line with a mini function of my own. Not terrible but working.
Image

I wish to use more dynamic value. I use st1 and st2 but I can't put variable Inside, only hard number. The base of my minimal function (not a real function but a boucle, I don't know if we use boucle in English)

Code: Select all

	stw #-1, hori	
	stw #01, vert2 
.back1		
		
	inc  hori	
	stw vert2, vert
		
	vreg    #$02 
	ldx     hori
	lda     vert 
	jsr     calc_vram_addr
	jsr     set_write
		
        st1     #$00	; here I want to put my variable "vert". I don't know if it's possible. Or use a word array ($0100, $0100, ...) and use #low(array value) / high(array value)
	st2	#$01		
		
	lda 	hori
	cmp  #31		
	beq   .back2
        bra   .back1
	
.back2
	inc		vert2
	lda 		vert2
	cmp  	#4		
	beq   	.satb
	bra 		.back1
I have another problem : I can't put my tile in BG1, I try with vreg #$05 without success. The same for my sprite. i want to change his priority to go on Sprite1 plane.
I use the macro : spr_pri #1

Code: Select all

	spr_set #0,satb
	spr_x sx
	spr_y sy
	spr_pattern #TONMA
	spr_ctrl  #SIZE_MASK,#SIZE_16x16
	spr_ctrl  #FLIP_MASK,#NO_FLIP
        spr_pri   #1
	spr_pal   #0
I try to change value #1 or #0 but the asm always put it on Sprite0 plane. I can't test with a background tile in foreground but the psrite disapear when I hide the Sprite0 plane with Mednafen.
User avatar
MooZ
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Lvl 3
Contact:

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by MooZ »

st0, st1 and st2 are "shortcuts" for:

Code: Select all

 ; st0
lda something
sta $0000
; st1
lda foo
sta $0002
; st2
lda foo
sta $0003
mkit has aliases for vdc registers. Namely, $0000 is video_reg, $0002 video_data_l and $0003 video_data_h.
They can be found include/pce/equ.inc

Do you call "update_satb satb" in your main loop?
tonma
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by tonma »

Thanks a lot for the shurtcut.

I make it works right now. I just look now for array value to make my tilemap.

I found the aliases you talk : video_reg ... I will look tomorrow how I can use them (with the debugger). i juste want to choose my plan for drawing sprite/tile now.

And oh yes, I update my satb

Code: Select all

.update:
           
		vsync

		
.satb:
           update_satb satb    ; update the SATB

           jmp   .update         ; and loop forever
           
RegalSin
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:39 pm

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by RegalSin »

http://shmups.system11.org/


Not the best place for programming but many shooter fans in one area.
tonma
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by tonma »

RegalSin wrote:http://shmups.system11.org/


Not the best place for programming but many shooter fans in one area.

Thanks, I'll look in the dev section, maybe to find some informations on good shoot sharing.
tonma
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by tonma »

Two videos from my dev on PCE.

https://youtu.be/Ky7fHuG37pc
https://youtu.be/5xWYfWPLvTw

Platform game with PyschoFox assets and the vertical with Banshee CD32 and ansimuz ship.

All in asm. 8-)
User avatar
MooZ
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Lvl 3
Contact:

Re: Creating shoot them up

Post by MooZ »

Keep it up!
Post Reply