VRAM Transfer Speed (and scd ram under HuC)

hu, cd, scd, acd, supergrafx discussions.
Orion_

VRAM Transfer Speed (and scd ram under HuC)

Post by Orion_ »

Hi there,

I'm a bit new to PC Engine programming but I actually have a lots of fun with it
I did a little HiColor pictures slideshow using HuC and CD and I'm loading pictures from the CD with the "cd_loadvram" function.
I load about 59,5k in VRAM each time and that's really slow on the real hardware (about 8 seconds !)
I tried to do the same from ASM scratch with my own lib and trying to first load as much as I can straight in ram and then transfer to the vram using "tia" but it's seems as slow as "cd_loadvram" (using ootake emulator with "real CD speed" option)
So I guess this is a vram speed problem ?
Can the VDC DMA be used to transfer from RAM to VRAM or only VRAM to VRAM ? Is it a lot faster ?
I started to write a routine to load CD data to SCD RAM because HuC cannot really let you access the SCD RAM (I found out that HuC limit code to 8k, const data to 8k, and RAM data to 5k located in the pce main ram, not the scd ram)
I just now need to load the scd ram data to vram using dma.
tomaitheous

Re: VRAM Transfer Speed (and scd ram under HuC)

Post by tomaitheous »

1) *Any* pointer or array access with HuC is *dead* slow. REALLY slow. It treats near data of scratchpad ram or constant bank as far data :x 2) Yeah, that *code* limit of 8k is lame. It originates from PCEAS, so it extends to HuC.

VDC DMA doesn't touch the CPU address range. Only VRAM. So VRAM to VRAM only. I'm not sure what functions you're using, but natively you can write to VRAM at any point of the display - vblank or active. TIA takes 7 cycles a byte (when $0000-$07ff is the destination) so it shouldn't have any problems copying to vram in a timely manner (about 4 frames or 6.6ms to do it).