I am a fool when it comes to the PCXTool

hu, cd, scd, acd, supergrafx discussions.
HyperFighting

I am a fool when it comes to the PCXTool

Post by HyperFighting »

Hi Guys,

I have loved the Turbo since I was kid. I now have a flash cart and I have enjoyed the likes of Ninja Gaiden, Magical Chase, and Parasol Stars on my North American Turbo!
It's time to take it to the next level and make a game! I am not a total noob as I have some C coding experience.

I am able to compile with HuC no problem. I did however run into a major issue when loading a .pcx file generated from Adobe PhotoShop CS5.

The 32x32 .pcx appeared as a black box when testing the compiled code!
After some poking around I found the PCXTool.exe and figured hey I guess I need to use this nifty tool to get PCE graphics formatted properly for my game.

I used the pcxtool -dump GoodFile.pcx to compare against the results of using the same command on my bad file.
What I found is that on the bad file all of my palette entries where on the bottom (in the F zone like this is F----ing annoying!) and in the
good file all my palette entries where on the top starting at position $00.

I wrote this little .bat file to see what would happen when processing my lame .pcx file. that displays as a blackbox when I compile and run code that includes it.

pcxtool -swap $F0 $00 NewGraphic.pcx NewGraphic1.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F1 $01 NewGraphic1.pcx NewGraphic2.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F2 $02 NewGraphic2.pcx NewGraphic3.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F3 $03 NewGraphic3.pcx NewGraphic4.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F4 $04 NewGraphic4.pcx NewGraphic5.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F5 $05 NewGraphic5.pcx NewGraphic6.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F6 $06 NewGraphic6.pcx NewGraphic7.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F7 $07 NewGraphic7.pcx NewGraphic8.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F8 $08 NewGraphic8.pcx NewGraphic9.pcx
pcxtool -swap $F9 $09 NewGraphic9.pcx NewGraphic10.pcx
pcxtool -swap $FA $0A NewGraphic10.pcx NewGraphic11.pcx
pcxtool -swap $FB $0B NewGraphic11.pcx NewGraphic12.pcx